Cold Deceit by Toni Anderson

Cold Deceit

Posted on December 21, 2022 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 4 Comments

Cold Deceit by Toni Anderson transports readers to Arizona and the Sonoran Desert along with FBI HRT Agent Hopper and Dr. Zoe Miller in a game of cat and mouse with the Mexican Cartel. Suspense and a whirlwind romance await you in this latest installment of the Cold Justice Most Wanted series. The perfect read for fans of romantic suspense.

 

Cold Deceit by Toni AndersonTitle: Cold Deceit
Author(s): Toni Anderson
Series: Cold Justice: Most Wanted #2, Cold Justice #17
Also in this series: Cold Silence
Published by Toni Anderson Inc. on December 20, 2022
Pages: 400
Genre(s): Romantic Suspense
Source: Author
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

A tenacious forensic anthropologist needs protection from an elite FBI HRT operator as they search for a ruthless killer in this Romantic Thriller by New York Times bestselling author Toni Anderson.
When forensic anthropologist Zoe Miller stumbles across a murder victim in the blisteringly hostile Sonoran Desert, she triggers a chain of events that puts her in the crosshairs of a ruthless killer.
FBI HRT operator Seth Hopper is on secret assignment near the Mexican border when he suddenly finds himself on a rescue mission. The former Navy SEAL is ordered to protect Zoe, whether she likes it or not, which sets them off on a cross-country journey back to Virginia.
Zoe has good reason not to trust a man like Seth, but there is no denying the scorching heat that flares between them, hotter than the desert sun. Can Zoe find justice for the murdered woman? Or will the killers close in to destroy them both…
All Toni Anderson's books can be read as standalone titles. Hot romantic stories with thrilling plots and guaranteed happily ever afters—they do contain strong language and steamy times.
For fans of Laura Griffin, Melinda Leigh, Karen Rose, and Sandra Brown.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

Cold Deceit begins with forensic anthropologist, Dr. Zoe Miller and her friends combing the Sonoran Desert for bones of persons who perished while trying to cross the border, hoping to reunite them with their loved ones. While conducting her search, she came across a corpse. On further examination, she discovered the individual had recently died. This discovery placed her and her friends in danger, which she discovered after members of the Mexican Cartel kidnapped them from their hotel room. A daring rescue by Seth and his team save their lives, but danger still lurks. Now its up to Seth to protect her from the Cartel. However, his growing feelings for Zoe threaten to compromise Seth’s ability to provide her with adequate protection.

I had a good time with Cold Deceit, which without a doubt is a wonderful addition to the series. Anderson delivered a story which sure to keep one entertained from start to finish. This is one of those books that readers will have a difficult time putting down. Zoe and Seth were wonderful characters. It was a treat getting to know them both. Their attraction to each other, though undeniable, came with complications. Complications in the form of insecurities, mistrust and issues from the past which led to several angsty moments. I loved that we got the story from both their perspectives, providing insight into their inner turmoil regarding their building attraction for each other.

The suspense was well done. It pulled me while slowly building up to the point where it had me on the edge of my seat. Danger lurked in the shadows and one could never tell when and how it would reveal itself. Cold Deceit is well-plotted and engaging and it maintained a perfect balance of romance and suspense. 

Cold Deceit delivers a plot building of intensity, drama, suspense and romance designed to pull the reader into its charm. A must read for fans of the genre.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4.5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
5
Pacing
5
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4.5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

 

About Toni Anderson

Toni Anderson writes award-winning, bestselling, FBI Romantic Thrillers. She is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, RITA® finalist, science nerd, professional tourist, dog lover, gardener, mom. Anderson’s books have won the Readers’ Choice Award, Aspen Gold, National Excellence in Romance Fiction, Book Buyers’ Best.  Originally from a small town in Shropshire, England, Toni studied Marine Biology at University of Liverpool (B.Sc.) and University of St. Andrews (Ph.D.) with the intention she’d never be far from the ocean. Well, that plan backfired and she ended up in the Canadian prairies with her biology professor husband, two kids, a rescue dog, and a laid-back leopard gecko.  Toni started writing while pregnant with her first child and never stopped. Her greatest achievements are mastering the Tokyo subway, climbing Ben Lomond, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef, and surviving fifteen Winnipeg winters (fingers crossed). She loves to travel for research purposes and was lucky enough to visit the Strategic Information and Operations Center inside FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C. in 2016. She also got to shove another (police) car off the road during pursuit training at the Writer’s Police Academy. Basically she has way too much fun!

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading
Follow Me
Latest posts by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading (see all)
Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags:

Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

4 responses to “Cold Deceit by Toni Anderson