📚The Little Grave by Carolyn Arnold

Posted on January 12, 2021 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 36 Comments

📚The Little Grave by Carolyn ArnoldTitle: The Little Grave
Author(s): Carolyn Arnold
Series: Detective Amanda Steele #1
Also in this series: Stolen Daughters , The Silent Witness
Published by Bookouture on January 11, 2021
Pages: 339
Genre(s): Mystery, Suspense
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Detective Amanda Steele stops just inside the doorway, recognizing the victim’s face instantly. He seems so vulnerable in death; soft, human, even harmless. But she can never forget the evil he has inflicted. Her heart is hammering as she remembers her precious daughter, with her red curls and infectious laugh, and how she was lowered into that little grave…
It’s been five years since Detective Amanda Steele’s life was derailed in the path of an oncoming drunk driver. The small community of Dumfries, Virginia, may have moved on from the tragic deaths of her husband and daughter, but Amanda cannot. When the driver who killed her family is found murdered in a motel room, she can’t keep away from the case.
Fighting her sergeant to be allowed to work an investigation with such a personal connection to her, Amanda is in a race to prove that she can uncover the truth. But the more she digs into the past of the man who destroyed her future, the more shocking discoveries she makes. And when Amanda finds the link between a silver bracelet in his possession and the brutal unsolved murder of a young exotic dancer, she realizes she’s caught up in something darker than she ever imagined and suspects that more girls could be in danger.
But as Amanda edges toward the truth, she gets closer to a secret as personal as it is deadly. Amanda has stumbled upon a dangerous killer, and she must face some terrible truths in order to catch this killer – and save his next victim as she couldn’t save her own daughter…
A gripping, page-turning thriller full of mystery and suspense. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

There are some authors whose books you just have to read whenever they have a new release. It doesn’t matter how much your TBR is over flowing. Carolyn Arnold is one such author for me. So, you can imagine my level of enthusiasm when I received a copy 📚The Little Grave for review purposes. 💃💃💃💃

📚The Little Grave, the first book in The Detective Amanda Steele series. It proved to be an interesting read with a shocking 😲😲😲 conclusion.

The story follows detective Amanda Steele. She lost her husband, her six-year-old daughter and her unborn child in a motor vehicle accident at the hands of a drunk driver. Since then, her life was one roller coaster of one-night stands, drinking and pill popping. How she held it together and keep her job with the Prince William County Police Department was a mystery within itself. 

She received a call informing her of the discovery of the dead body of the man responsible for her family’s death. Despite her personal connection to the victim, her sergeant allowed her to be a part of the investigation on the condition she worked with a partner who would be the lead investigator on paper.

I had a great time with this book, which came as no surprise. A well-paced storyline with a narrative steeped in pain and sorrow. Arnold’s ability to engage her readers by keeping them turning the pages while attempting to guess the outcome of the investigation was evident within her latest release.

The more Amanda dug, the bigger the can of worms she unearthed and the more danger she faced. The biggest shocker of all for everyone, including the reader, involved the revelation of the murderer’s identity. Never once did I see this person as being the guilty party.

Amanda, a severely damaged heroine, was on a road to destruction. This case may just be her saving grace despite the conflict of interest. Although I sympathized with her circumstances, I abhorred her behaviour and the way she treated her new partner.  She did redeem herself as the story progressed.

Overall, a solid start to the series. If you enjoy police procedural and you are looking for a new series to sink your teeth in, I recommend you picking up a copy of  📚The Little Grave. 

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4
Characters
4
World Building
4
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4.5
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4.5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™. Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower. She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading
Follow Me
Latest posts by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading (see all)

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

36 responses to “📚The Little Grave by Carolyn Arnold

  1. Karen Hitt Siddall

    This sounds like one I would like – a very damaged woman. I look forward to getting it.

  2. Karen Hitt Siddall

    This sounds like one I would like – a very damaged woman. I look forward to getting it.

  3. Bookworms Corner Blog Spot

    Fantastic review. This sounds like my kinda book and is a definite addition to my TBR.

  4. Sometimes we really need a good mystery filled with suspense, and I think this one is intriguing! Glad to know you had a great time with it 🙂

  5. Debbie Haupt

    ok Nadene this is the kind of book I love and your review brought it to life for me. Thanks

  6. Wow, this one really dug deep on the emotional end and it sounds like she was one of those complex characters that had a long personal journey besides the mystery.

  7. Wow, this one really dug deep on the emotional end and it sounds like she was one of those complex characters that had a long personal journey besides the mystery.

  8. I know you said the book has mature content…could you expound a little further? I prefer clean reads (language and sexual content). Not having read this author before I am not sure what to expect, but the book and series sounds really good.