Review Tour: Power Struggle by Carolyn Arnold

Posted on December 15, 2017 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in 2017 new release challenge, Reviews / 16 Comments

Review Tour: Power Struggle by Carolyn ArnoldTitle: Power Struggle
Author(s): Carolyn Arnold
Series: Madison Knight #8
Also in this series: In the Line of Duty (Madison Knight, #7), Shades of Justice (Madison Knight, #9), What We Bury
Published by Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc on September 13, 2017
Pages: 460
Genre(s): Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Source: Beck Valley Book Tours
Format: ARC, eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Kobo
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

One hit man who’s back for revenge. One detective who’s not going down without a fight.
It’s been ten months since Detective Madison Knight almost died at the hands of Russian Mafia hit man Constantine Romanov. She hasn’t seen hide nor hair of him since he escaped police custody and fled to Russia soon after his arrest, except now her latest murder investigation gives her reason to believe he’s back in town. Seeing as the victim is the man who killed her grandfather, her perspective may be a little skewed, but with the MO smacking of Constantine and the victim’s connections to the mob, she finds it hard to be objective. Still, she’s doing her best to consider all the evidence.   When she receives a threatening letter from Constantine, however, her suspicions are confirmed. And he’s made it abundantly clear that not only does he plan to finish what he started but he has her family and loved ones in the crosshairs, too. Madison vows to do whatever it takes to save them, but as the hours race by, the body count rises. And the stakes only get higher when Madison’s sister, Chelsea, goes missing.   Now, Madison’s only play is to take Chelsea’s disappearance for what it really means: Constantine is calling Madison out for one final showdown. And they won’t both survive…

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

I had the pleasure of meeting Detective Madison Knight when I read In the Line of Duty book #7 in the Madison Knight series. I admired her for tough as nails demeanor, her tenacity and her dedication in doing her job. I also saw the lengths she would go through to protect those she loved. I related to her on so many levels and so I could not wait to dive into the latest installment featuring this no- nonsense detective.  I was not disappointed. All the traits I came to love was on display once again in this installment.
 
The story began with Madison at the murder scene of the man who had murdered her grandfather.  This is the first time she feels no empathy for a victim, but as a professional, she would do her best to find out who was responsible. The scene mimics another murder, committed by the Russian Mafia’s top assassin, the man responsible for her current nightmares.  Still reeling from the recent loss of a friend and colleague, the thought that the cause of her nightmares may be back was not appreciated.   Therefore, when the receipt of a threatening letter revealed that her speculations were a reality she faced the knowledge that her life and those of her loved ones was at stake.
 
Power Struggle is more than a story about a detective trying to solve a case. It demonstrated the emotional upheavals officers of the law face while trying to carry out their duties. Not only did Madison had to deal with a psychopath determined to kill her she had to deal with a mother who did not approve of her career choice and who blamed her for the danger facing their family. In addition, she also had to deal with the emotional challenges of being in a relationship with a fellow cop.  
 
Tensions and fears were high and the character’s emotions leapt off the pages.  I understood Madison’s need to protect those she loved, no matter the cost.  She acted reckless on occasions, but I could not fault her.  One never knows how they would react to danger until they are facing it.  Although I did not start the series from the beginning. I can see based on my limited knowledge that Madison has come a long way as it relates to her personal relationships.  
 
Knowledge of the villain’s identity from the outset did not make me enjoy the story any less. What made intriguing was waiting to see what he had planned for Madison. I was curious to know how his plans for Madison tied in with his current spate of murders. Was he working for the mafia or has he gone rogue? The suspense laid in the fact that Madison had no clue as to the villain’s next move.  Waiting to see what his next move would be, kept me on edge for most the story.
 
The author’s impeccable writing style had me glued to the pages.  Her attention to details and the manner in which she presented the story made it easy for me to connect with every aspect of the story. She pulled me and kept me entertained to the end.
 
Conclusion/Recommendation.

 

Overall, this was a good story and one I recommend for fans of police procedurals.
 


WHAT TO EXPECT FROM 

THE DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, 

Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, 

and Hawaii Five-O.
Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).

 

Read an excerpt

 

Follow the Book Tour

NOW FOR THE AUTHOR’S GIVEAWAY !!

 

Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team – Apply Here x
Current book tours open for sign ups HERE

About Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™. Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower. She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading
Follow Me
Latest posts by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading (see all)

Tags: , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 responses to “Review Tour: Power Struggle by Carolyn Arnold

  1. RO

    This title is an attention grabber, and sometimes I like knowing who the perp is, so I can watch what he or she does to get caught. Definitely sounds like one I want to pick up. Hugs…and Happy New Year! RO

  2. Sounds great! Last year I read a few mystery/thriller books and totally enjoyed them. This year I want to read more of different genres, so I might get the first book. 🙂

    New follwer! 🙂

    Nina@http://jadorehappyendings.blogspot.nl/

  3. Oh sounds great. Glad that you enjoyed it. I love books about police, especially if the hero or the heroine is a police or detective. Awesome review, my friend. ?❤️

  4. I always love books like that but I don’t read a lot of them. This series looks good and I confess that I’m quite intrigued to try book 1

  5. I love it when a murder mystery series can get me vested in the personal side as well as the murder. This sounds great. Loved your review, Nadene!