Tag: thriller

The Family Trip: Daniel Hurst

The Family Trip

Posted on June 4, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 5 Comments

In The Family Trip, Hurst weaves a complex tale filled with lies and deceit. It keeps the reader in suspense, while amping up the tension and has one guessing for the majority of the story. Dark and Mysterious, The Family Trip will appeal to fans of psychological thrillers.

 

The Family Trip: Daniel HurstTitle: The Family Trip
Author(s): Daniel Hurst
Published by Bookouture on May 31, 2024
Pages: 295
Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Netgalley
Format: eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I planned the perfect vacation. But now my son is missing… Everyone believes my husband Donovan and I have it all – a loving marriage, two adorable children and the dream house. But beneath the surface of our enviable American lifestyle lies a secret that binds us tighter than our vows.I thought we could keep the truth buried forever, but I was wrong. To protect the secrets of my past, we have to go to Ireland to find the woman who has the power to shatter my perfect family. And I’m prepared to do whatever it takes to stop her…Except my plan for revenge has gone horribly wrong. And now my eight-year-old son Barnaby is missing. My body trembles as I scan the sunny spot where I last saw him. But there’s no sign of Barnaby’s blue t-shirt and sandy blonde hair. Who has taken my son? I thought I was in control but now I fear this whole vacation was a trap… Can I save my family, or will our lives be destroyed forever?
From the number one bestselling author of The Doctor’s Wife, this completely addictive psychological thriller will have you glued to the pages until the very last twist! Perfect for fans of T.M. Logan, Freida McFadden and John Marrs.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 



If something seems too good to be true you can bet your bottom dollar it is.  Shannon O’Shea will discover the harsh truth behind this statement.

As a tour guide Shannon desires to take her clients to popular and unique places in Ireland. However, business policy prevents her from satisfying this desire. Broke and mired in debt starting her own tour guide business was not feasible at this time. So, she had no choice but to continue working for a boss who has no regard for his employees and who pockets all the profits. So, imagine her delight when a billionaire couple (The Conway’s) contacted her requesting her services as a tour guide. The offer of 20000 would solve her financial problems but was this for real or was it a scam were the questions racing through her mind. Despite her reservations she accepts the offer, but she will learn that not every is necessarily a good one.

The Family Trip pulled me in from the first page. Throughout the story, several questions arose, the main on being the reason the Conway’s hired Shannon. I had my suspicions, but unfortunately, they were all wrong. The reason for the Conway’s making contact with Shannon shocked this reader to the core. From the outset it was clear they weren’t likeable characters, but to   execute such plan was downright diabolical.

Shannon made some not so smart decisions in her dealings with the Conway’s. Decisions, which added more chaos to an already tense situation. The story delivered several twists with the major one occurring near the end. That one left me gob smacked.

Overall, I found The Family Trip entertaining and suspenseful. This story will engage you with its twists and keeps you guessing. 

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4
Characters
4
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4.5
Cover
5
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4.5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

 

The Family Trip

About Daniel Hurst

Daniel Hurst was born in the northwest of England, a part of the world famous for its comedians, pasties and terrible weather. He has been employed in several glamorous roles in his lifetime, including bartending, shelf stacking and procurement administration, all while based in some of the most exotic places on the planet, like Bolton, Preston and South London. Since following his lifelong passion for writing in 2020, he has amassed a loyal and devoted set of readers, and regularly has several books in the top 100 of the Psychological Thriller Charts on Amazon. His title The Passenger became the #1 selling psychological thriller in the UK in October 2021.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: , ,

Divider