Review: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Nadene September 16, 2020 Reviews 19 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: The Inheritance Games  by Jennifer Lynn BarnesTitle: The Inheritance Games
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Series: Inheritance Games, #1
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on September 1, 2020
Pages: 384
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult
Source: Pigeonhole Book Club
Format: ARC, eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Kobo|Audible
Rating: four-stars

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.
Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

What would you do if a stranger died and left you most of his wealth, which amounted to billions? The one catch being, you would have to live in his family home for one year with his family who believes you are a gold digger. 

I discovered The Inheritance Game through The Pigeonhole Book Club and on reading the blurb I thought why not give this a try? I knew nothing about the author, so despite the intriguing blurb I lowered my expectations going into this book, however, the story surprised me. It was better than I expected.

The story pulled me it from the start and held me captive as I followed Avery on her journey as she tried to unravel the many puzzles surrounding her mysterious inheritance. Avery had no clue who the Hawthornes were until the day she discovered she had inherited the bulk of Tobias Hawthorne’s estate worth billions. However, there was one catch she had to reside in the Hawthorne house for one year. It was at this point things became interesting as Avery was caught up in the biggest game of her life while trying to stay one step of ahead of whoever is trying to end her.

Puzzles, riddles, clues and twists were found in every nook and cranny of the House. You never know when you will encounter a riddle or a puzzle, which if solved would take Avery one step closer to the reason Tobias Hawthorne chose her to inherit his billion-dollar fortune.

I enjoyed getting to know each of the characters. What I liked too was the fact you did not know who to trust.

I also had fun exploring the house through Avery’s eyes. Avery was used to playing games with her mom, but it couldn’t compare to what she experienced in the house. However, being a smart girl, she caught on quickly and started solving riddles, sometimes on her own or with the help of her benefactor’s grandsons.

Romance was brewing, which I would not have had a problem with if there was only one love interest. Instead there was a love triangle, which is one of my biggest pet peeves.

A note of warning this is the first book in a series so the questions raised here have yet to be answered, leaving the reader eager for the next book.

Conclusion/Recommendation
The Inheritance Games is a well written young adult mystery which will keep readers on their toes. If you enjoy stories that challenge your mind, then you need to get yourself a copy of this book.

Story Evaluation
Plot
five-stars
Characters
four-stars
World Building
four-stars
Writing Style
five-stars
Pacing
four-stars
Enjoyment
four-stars
Cover
three-half-stars
Overall: four-stars
Nadene

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • New Release

Tags: ,