Review: Game of Fear by Glede Browne Kabongo

Posted on August 13, 2020 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 16 Comments

Game of Fear, book one in the Fearless series, was never on my radar. However, when I signed up to review Autumn of Fear, I discovered that this was the third book in the series. Readers can read each book as a standalone, however, I think it’s best to read the books in order.

Abbie, a high school senior, is looking forward to graduation and attending the college of her dreams. Everything is going well, but it all comes crashing down when she found a cryptic note in her locker. The person behind the note is blackmailing her for a mistake she made in the past. A mistake which, if found out, would lead to expulsion and destruction of her chances of attending a prestigious University. Can Abbie find out the identity of her blackmailer before times runs out?

The story plunged me into the world of rich students. It had me hooked from the first page. Curious to learn the identity of the blackmailer and the motive behind the blackmail, I eagerly flipped through the pages to get the answers. Also, I needed to know the mistake Abbie made that had the potential to destroy her future. I spent most of the story trying to figure out the identity of the blackmailer. To say it surprised me to learn who was responsible would be an understatement. It flabbergasted me. It goes to show not everyone who eats and drink with you can be trusted.

I admired Abbie. I found her to be smart, strong and determined. She refused to let the blackmailer control her and would do everything in her power to stop the person destroying her life. She wasn’t perfect, which made it easy to relate to her. I watched her attempt to navigate a relationship while trying to handle her problems on her own.

In typical high school fashion, there was the mean girls’ clique. A group of girls who made their mission to destroy fellow students who they thought were beneath them. The leader had her own issues dealing with, and for some reason she hated Abbie.

Although classified as a psychological thriller I would consider it such. It is more of a mystery as the pacing was slow for a thriller. Despite the slow pacing, there was never a dull moment. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and what made them tick.

Overall, I enjoyed the time spent in the world created by Glede Browne Kabongo. I already have book two, which follows Abbie as she navigates college, queued on my Kindle. I recommend this to fans of young adult mystery.

About Glede Browne Kabongo

Gledé Browne Kabongo writes intense psychological thrillers—unflinching tales of deception, secrecy, danger and family. She is the #1 Amazon bestselling author of the Fearless Series, Swan Deception, Conspiracy of Silence, and Mark of Deceit. Her love affair with books began as a young girl growing up in the Caribbean, where her town library overlooked the Atlantic Ocean. She was trading books and discussing them with neighbors before Book Clubs became popular. Gledé holds both an M.S. and B.A. in communications. She was a featured speaker at the 2016 Boston Book Festival and has led workshops on publishing and the craft of writing. She hopes to win an Oscar for screenwriting. Gledé lives outside Boston with her husband and two sons

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading
Follow Me
Latest posts by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading (see all)
Please follow and like:
Visit Us
Follow Me
Follow by Email
Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: , ,


Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 responses to “Review: Game of Fear by Glede Browne Kabongo

  1. Debbie Haupt

    I know how you feel about a series in order Nadene I feel the same way and it’s why I get so mad when a review sounds good and it’s book like 17 in a series LOL xo