Review: Autumn of Fear by Glede Browne Kabongo

Nadene August 17, 2020 Reviews 13 Comments

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: Autumn of Fear by Glede Browne KabongoTitle: Autumn of Fear
Author: Glede Browne Kabongo
Series: Fearless #2
Published by BrowneStar Publishing on March 27, 2018
Pages: 345
Genres: New Adult, Psychological Thriller
Source: Purchase
Format: eBook
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: four-stars

An ambitious girl with a promising future, a charming manipulator with a diabolical secret—the truth will destroy them both
When college student Abbie Cooper wakes up in a hospital bed barely alive after a violent assault, her world comes crashing down. She has no memory of the attack or her assailant, and no idea how she ended up in the Emergency Room.
As she grapples with the horrific aftermath, Abbie is determined to uncover the truth about what happened that night. But to catch a monster, she must piece together the events in the weeks leading up to the assault. Why did charming senior Spencer Rossdale take a sudden interest in her, and why did her quiet study group partner Justin Tate want to meet with her alone?
The deeper Abbie digs into the events leading up to that fateful night, the more she unravels a stunning web of lies that stretch back decades. Revealing them will change everything but the truth is the least of Abbie’s problems. A vicious predator is watching her, and he’s willing to kill to protect his secret.


Autumn of Fear is the second book in the exciting Fearless series by Gledé Browne Kabongo.

In this installment, Abbie Cooper is attending Yale University on a full academic scholarship. The story began with Abbie waking up in the hospital. Based on information provided by the doctor, she was assaulted, but she has no memory of the assault. The last things she remembered was being at a party with her friends Zhara and Ty and being kissed by Spenser who had been showing an unusual interest in her. Determined to learn what happened that fateful night, she sets out with the help of her best friend to piece together the events leading up to the night of the attack. Will she be able to uncover the truth before her attack strikes again?

For the reader this was not a case of who was behind the attack, because it became obvious early into the story. They were many suspects, but identifying the villain proved easier than I thought. It was more a case of why and if anyone else was involved. Autumn of Fear had many twists and turns. I eagerly flipped through the pages as I had to know how it would all unfold. I like that the story was told from the POVs of Abbie and the villain. Although being in the mind of her villain had me on edge. There were a few twists I never saw coming, but their revelation and timing made sense. I enjoyed the pacing, which fit the story perfectly. Well done and engaging.

Now if you read my review of book one, you would be aware how much I admired Abbie for her strength and determination. She had been through a lot, but the manner in which she dealt with the aftereffects of her attack revealed her true strength. I lift my hat to her as I am not sure I would have been able to do what she did. My heart broke for her during the difficult moments, but thanks to her strong support system from both family and friends, she survived it all.

I loved how the story with justice being served and Abbie getting much needed closure and finding happiness. It proves that behind every cloud is a silver lining.

I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Readers can read each book as a standalone, however, I recommend reading the series in order, which would make it easier to follow the lives of the main characters. If you love psychological thrillers, then you would want to read Autumn of Fear.


Autumn of Fear by Glede Browne Kabongo delivered a suspenseful and thrilling tale of survival. #mystery #thriller #suspense Click To Tweet

About Glede Browne Kabongo

Gledé Browne Kabongo writes intense psychological thrillers—unflinching tales of deception, secrecy, danger and family. She is the #1 Amazon bestselling author of the Fearless Series, Swan Deception, Conspiracy of Silence, and Mark of Deceit. Her love affair with books began as a young girl growing up in the Caribbean, where her town library overlooked the Atlantic Ocean. She was trading books and discussing them with neighbors before Book Clubs became popular. Gledé holds both an M.S. and B.A. in communications. She was a featured speaker at the 2016 Boston Book Festival and has led workshops on publishing and the craft of writing. She hopes to win an Oscar for screenwriting. Gledé lives outside Boston with her husband and two sons