Review: One Complicated Christmas by Mika Jolie

Nadene November 21, 2019 2019 New Release Challenge, Reviews 12 Comments

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: One Complicated Christmas by Mika JolieTitle: One Complicated Christmas
Author: Mika Jolie
Published by Self-published Pages: 146
Genres: Second Chance Romance
Source: Author
Format: ARC, eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: four-stars

What’s a girl to do when she needs to bury the memories of her past?
Apparently, book a room at a cozy Vermont inn for Christmas…as if that’s going to fix years of pining for the one that got away. It doesn’t matter. This holiday getaway is exactly what the doctor ordered. I’m ready to close that heartbreaking chapter in my life for good and start the new year with a bang.
It should be easy.
Except there’s one problem—Joe Parker—with that killer smile and those drown-in-me brown eyes. The man who was supposed to be my forever, but instead left my heart shattered and in disarray.
He’s here. In this wintry hamlet. Daring me to risk everything for him. Again.
I came to this small town looking to leave the past behind me, not get reacquainted with an old flame. And yet, one kiss, and I’m consumed by feelings—heart, mind, and soul. He still makes me tingle in all the right places.
Denial is a powerful tool, but how long can I fight falling for him all over again?
Can I trust him enough to give us another shot?
Fans of Jill Shalvis and Nora Roberts will be swept away by One Complicated Christmas, a second-chance standalone holiday romance in a small town, set with mistletoe lurking around every corner. Grab a glass of spiked eggnog and enjoy.

One Complicated Christmas by Mika Jolie is a sweet, second chance, Christmas romance. It tells the story of Joe and Sasha, college sweethearts, who were separated for six years because of unforeseen circumstances. Joe’s sudden departure, lack of explanation, and his failure to communicate broke Sasha’s heart. Six years later during the Christmas season, she decides its time for her to let go of the past. So she checks into a Bed and Breakfast in Yeti, Vermont, which appears to the perfect place for healing a broken heart and taking skiing lessons, only to come face to face with the source of her heartbreak.
 

“You know it’s love when your feelings don’t leave even if the person does.”

 
This quote by the author aptly describes Joe and Sasha’s journey in finding their way back to each other. Their unexpected reunion revealed that distance and time had no effect on true love. Old feelings bubbled to the surface, but fear and anger on Sasha’s part had the potential to destroy it all. I could not blame for feeling the way she did.
 
I understood the reasons for Joe’s sudden departure, but I had a hard time accepting his failure to communicate with the woman, whom he considered his heart and soul. Six years of heartache, pain and misunderstanding could have been avoided if trust and communication were present in their relationship.
 
Personally, I believed he got off too easily. I thought he needed to do more groveling. However, I have to admit it was evident he had matured since then and he made an effort to make up for his mistake.
 
I enjoyed the Christmas feeling that the story elicited, warm, and fuzzy. The story that unfolded was heartwarming, sweet and predictable.
 
I was a little disappointed with the lack of reference to Jamaican Christmas practices. Sasha’s mom is Jamaican, so it would be natural for her to teach her about her heritage and culture, but this was not reflected in the story.
 
Conclusion/Recommendation
One Complicated Christmas is a story about forgiveness and second chances. An enjoyable read and one I would recommend to readers who are fans of second chance and Christmas romance.

About Mika Jolie

Mika Jolie is the bestselling author of the Martha’s Way series. She lives in New Jersey with her Happy Chaos—her husband and their energizer bunnies. 

A sports fanatic and a wine aficionado, she’s determined to balance it all and still write about life experiences and matters of the heart. 

Let’s face it, people are complicated and love can be messy.

 When she’s not weaving life and romance into evocative tales, you can find her on a hiking adventure, apple picking, or whatever her three men can conjure up.

She loves to hear from readers.

Nadene
Latest posts by Nadene (see all)

Tags: ,