Tag: police procedural

One Little Sigh: Shannon Hollinger

One Little Sigh

Posted on July 22, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 3 Comments

“One Little Sigh” is an intense and emotional thriller delving into the dark aspects of human nature. Set in a small, secluded community shrouded in secrets and deception, it follows a resolute heroine on the search for the truth. The story weaves through themes of loss, grief, and the quest for redemption.

 

One Little Sigh: Shannon HollingerTitle: One Little Sigh
Author(s): Shannon Hollinger
Series: Chief Maggie Riley #4
Also in this series: The Girl Who Lied, The Shadow Girl, Their Angel’s Cry
Published by Bookouture on June 28, 2024
Pages: 355
Genre(s): Crime Fiction
Source: Netgalley
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The small child floats so gently in the water, he could be peacefully but the cold blue of his skin reveals his fate. One mother’s little boy is never coming home again.
When Chief Maggie Riley sees the body of the small boy still dressed in pyjamas in Beaverhead Lake, her heart breaks. Little Patrick Warner went missing last night. Despite immediately calling the entire town of Coyote Cove into action, Maggie’s desperate search failed. Even worse, it’s clear it was Patrick took his last breath long before he entered the water.
Maggie is devastated—Patrick reminds her so much of her beautiful younger brother, gone for so long. Visiting the tiny, rumpled bed where Patrick’s teddy bear still lies, and where Patrick was last seen by his mother Jenny, Maggie’s grief turns to rage. She is determined to bring whoever hurt Patrick to justice.
In this isolated community, someone must know something. But no one will talk. And if his family had nothing to do with it, why are they so secretive? As Maggie’s investigation gathers pace, her emotions threaten to overwhelm her. She still doesn’t know her brother’s fate—she won’t let that happen for little Patrick.
But when Jenny suddenly disappears, suspicions whirl around her role in Patrick’s death. Could she have been lying all this time? Or is Jenny herself in terrible danger too? To uncover the truth before more innocent lives are lost, and lay her demons to rest, Maggie will have to risk not only those closest to her but her own life too…
An utterly addictive crime thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Mary Stone and Melinda Leigh.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

In the fourth installment of the Chief Maggie Riley series, a four-year-old boy goes missing. Chief Maggie Riley faces the daunting task of finding the child before time runs out. However, the unthinkable occurs when the child’s body is discovered floating in the river. The pressing questions now are: What happened, and who is responsible?

The mystery of the child’s disappearance was profound. Every suspect had a compelling motive for the child’s disappearance and ultimate death, considering their past and current involvements. This complexity made it difficult to determine the identity of the responsible party.

The investigation stirred up painful memories for Maggie, which constantly invaded her thoughts throughout the investigation. The story takes readers on a journey through Maggie’s past as she revisits these memories in flashback chapters. We not only revisit the memories with her but also share in her anguish and loss during this challenging period. Maggie isn’t the only one grappling with past issues. Her fiancé, Steve, also harbors problems that he has concealed from Maggie.  A secret that not only puts him at risk but also threatens to unravel his relationship with Maggie.

While each installment presents a unique mystery, I recommend reading the books in sequence due to the continuous developments in Maggie and Steve’s lives. The unfolding events leave readers with lingering questions about how the consequences will impact everyone in the subsequent books.

Hollinger has crafted a series that captivates readers from the very first book. Overall, ‘One little Sigh’ was an excellent read and one I would recommend to fans of police procedural.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4
Characters
4.5
World Building
4
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4.5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Shannon Hollinger

With degrees in Crime Scene Technology & Physical Anthropology, Florida author Shannon Hollinger hasn’t just seen the dark side of humanity – she’s been elbow deep inside of it! She finds writing to be a much cleaner way to spend her time than the autopsy suite. Most days it smells better, too. Her debut novel, the psychological thriller Best Friends Forever, is the first of a five-book deal with publisher Bookouture. Her short fiction has appeared in Suspense Magazine, Mystery Weekly, and The Saturday Evening Post, among a number of other magazines and anthologies, and her story Lady Killer was a finalist for the 2021 Al Blanchard Award sponsored by the New England Crime Bake.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: ,

Divider