Icon Tag: Mystery

Cold Fury: Toni Anderson

Cold Fury

Posted on May 16, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 4 Comments

Cold Fury by Toni Anderson delivered an exciting, thrilling and emotional read which will appeal to readers who enjoy romantic suspense. In the latest instalment of the Cold Justice:Most Wanted series, FBI Operator Aaron Nash leads the team assigned to protect ADA Hope Harper from a notorious serial killer.

 

Cold Fury: Toni AndersonTitle: Cold Fury
Author(s): Toni Anderson
Series: Cold Justice: Most Wanted #4
Also in this series: Cold Silence , Cold Deceit , Cold Snap
Published by Toni Anderson Inc. on May 14, 2024
Pages: 436
Genre(s): Romantic Suspense
Source: Author
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Seven years ago, Hope Harper was a star defense attorney with a great life and a beautiful family—until she got the wrong defendant released, and he turned around and viciously slaughtered her husband and child. Since then, the only thing Hope cares about is locking bad guys behind bars where they can’t hurt anyone else. When the killer escapes from a maximum security prison during a winter storm, Hope refuses to run and hide.
The FBI’s Hostage Rescue Team is called in to protect the handful of public figures the notorious serial killer threatened. Operator Aaron Nash draws the short straw—he’ll be heading up Assistant District Attorney Hope Harper’s close protection detail.Much to Aaron’s frustration, the cool blonde refuses to go into protective custody. As the hours and days wear on, Aaron and Hope manage a fragile truce. He begins to understand and admire the tenacious prosecutor, and the two of them begin to work together.
As the escaped serial killer’s rampage spins on, Hope knows it’s just a matter of time until he comes for her. Except something’s changed. For the first time since losing her family, she has something to live for. But is history doomed to repeat itself?
All the books can be read as standalone novels. Hot romantic stories with thrilling plots and guaranteed happily ever afters. For fans of Laura Griffin, Karen Rose, Sandra Brown, and Nora Roberts.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

I picked up Cold Fury expecting a suspenseful ride with romance served on the side. I did not anticipate the deep emotional impact the story would have. Hope Harper, amidst a moment of triumph, experienced a tragic loss. A loss that would change the trajectory of her personal and professional life.

Seven years after the loss, instead of defending criminals, she prosecutes them instead. In the seven years since the tragedy which changed her life, she avoided personal relationships. Grief, anger and regrets were her constant companions. So when she discovered the person responsible for her current state had escaped prison and had her in his crosshairs, she welcomed the chance for retribution. If only the protection detail assigned to her wasn’t so good at their job.

Aaron Nash and his team aren’t looking forward to their latest assignment. The incident seven years ago had everyone in law enforcement viewing Hope negatively, rendering her unpopular. However, during the course of carrying out his duties, sparks ignited between the two, leading to an unexpected romance.

Tension, danger, intrigue, and romance blended well in this latest instalment by Toni Anderson. Unravelling the puzzle proved to be exciting, and the interactions between Aaron and Hope were delightful. Both were flawed and relatable. While Hope struggles with anger, grief, regrets, and guilt, Aaron wrestles with low self-esteem and anger.

Cold Fury proved difficult to put down. The escaped convict’s quest for revenge against the persons he blamed for his incarceration, with Hope as his pièce de résistance, made for a thrilling ride. Unfortunately, he wasn’t the only one with an agenda, which led to a few plot twists and shocking moments.

Fans of mysteries, thrillers and romantic suspense should pick up Cold Fury along with the other books in the series.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
5
Characters
5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Toni Anderson

Toni Anderson writes award-winning, bestselling, FBI Romantic Thrillers. She is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, RITA® finalist, science nerd, professional tourist, dog lover, gardener, mom. Anderson’s books have won the Readers’ Choice Award, Aspen Gold, National Excellence in Romance Fiction, Book Buyers’ Best.  Originally from a small town in Shropshire, England, Toni studied Marine Biology at University of Liverpool (B.Sc.) and University of St. Andrews (Ph.D.) with the intention she’d never be far from the ocean. Well, that plan backfired and she ended up in the Canadian prairies with her biology professor husband, two kids, a rescue dog, and a laid-back leopard gecko.  Toni started writing while pregnant with her first child and never stopped. Her greatest achievements are mastering the Tokyo subway, climbing Ben Lomond, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef, and surviving fifteen Winnipeg winters (fingers crossed). She loves to travel for research purposes and was lucky enough to visit the Strategic Information and Operations Center inside FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C. in 2016. She also got to shove another (police) car off the road during pursuit training at the Writer’s Police Academy. Basically she has way too much fun!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: ,

Divider