Icon Tag: Small Town

Black Crow Cabin: Peggy Webb

Posted on May 6, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 6 Comments

My love for mysteries and thrillers led me to pick up Black Crow Cabin by Peggy Webb. It’s a brilliant start to the Logan Sisters thriller series. Webb weaved an intriguing, shocking, and bizarre thriller. A tale intended to keep readers hooked from start to finish.

 

Black Crow Cabin: Peggy WebbTitle: Black Crow Cabin
Author(s): Peggy Webb
Series: Logan Sisters Thriller #1
Published by Bookouture on April 30, 2024
Pages: 335
Genre(s): Thriller
Source: Kindle Unlimited, Netgalley
Format: eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Rachel wakes up, gasping for breath, and immediately knows her children are in danger. The scent of magnolias is heavy in the air, which means the Collector is coming…

Schoolteacher Rachel Logan is living an ordinary life in a small community at the foot of the Rocky Mountains. As a single mother still reeling from the sudden death of her husband, she refuses to allow her life to be shaken by whispers of a local thief called the Collector. But when a little boy and girl are taken, everything changes.

On her isolated ranch on the edge of the forest, Rachel feels someone is watching her. The scent of magnolias clings to her bedsheets each morning, which her family’s gift tells her is a bad omen. And when a photograph is stolen from her house with a tarot card left in its place—the Collector’s twisted signature—she knows her children will be his next victims.

Terrified, Rachel is relieved when her husband’s best friend Hank offers to move in to protect her family. Especially because she can feel something dark stirring in the woods just beyond her ranch. But it soon becomes clear that the Collector isn’t after her children, and has instead set his sights on Rachel…

Can Rachel outwit an unimaginable evil before time runs out for two innocent children? And even if she does manage to save their lives, can a monster like the Collector ever be stopped?

The first book in the thrilling Logan Sisters series, this utterly gripping small-town thriller is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Melinda Leigh and Mary Kubica, and anyone looking for a page-turner packed with unguessable, gripping twists.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

 

The series revolves around three sisters who have extraordinary abilities. Rachel Logan, a schoolteacher, widow, and mother of two gorgeous children, is introduced in Black Crow Cabin. She has the capacity to detect when danger is close. She lives in a beautiful, small town, but the presence of The Collector disrupts the tranquilly. So named because of their penchant for
1. taking personal items from their victims’ homes.
2. kidnapping children
3. Leaving behind a tarot card at the crime scene.

So when several items went missing from her home and a tarot card was left behind, Rachel knew her children were in danger. Will she be able to protect her children from the infamous Collector?

Rachel demonstrated bravery and smarts for most of the story. However, there were two instances where she failed to use her smarts and ended up placing herself in a precarious situation. 

Black Crow Cabin delivered on the thrills and chills. Suspense and a sense of danger had me hooked. The Collector’s POV added to the tension and made for some interesting reading. Despite the horrific details in some instances, diehard fans of thrillers will have a hard time putting this one down. I look forward to what else the series has to offer.

Story Evaluation
Plot
4
Characters
4
World Building
4
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4.5
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4.5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

 

About Peggy Webb

Peggy Webb is the USA Today best-selling author of more than 100 novels in numerous genres, including the reader favourite crime thriller, Snow Brides, and the acclaimed literary fiction novel The Sweetest Hallelujah – written under her pen name Elaine Hussey and compared to Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. Her current crime thrillers combine the addictive quality of Snow Brides with the lyrical writing of her literary works, which the late, great Pat Conroy called “astonishing.” Peggy is a former adjunct instructor of writing at Mississippi State University and has won numerous awards, including a prestigious Pioneer Award for creating the sub-genre of romantic comedy, numerous Reviewers Choice Awards, multiple Word Weaving Awards for Excellence, and a submission for the Pulitzer. With more than three million books in print in numerous languages and countries, Peggy’s love of writing goes back to her roots in northeast Mississippi, where she grew up on a farm and fell in love with words by reading everything she could get her hands on while sitting in her daddy’s hayloft. Peggy is an accomplished pianist and singer, and has starred in numerous roles in her local community theatre, including M’Lynn (the Sally Field role) from Steel Magnolias, and The White Witch from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Her love of theatre and music shines through her novels.  She is known for her chilling, filmic scenes, and her latest crime thriller features blues lyrics she composed and credited to one of her characters. She has co-written screenplays for two of her novels, and is active with the Film Festival in her hometown of Tupelo, Mississippi, which is also the birthplace of Elvis. Peggy’s love of both writing and music is so strong, she says, “I hear the music of words in every novel I write.” You can hear her discuss the link between the two arts in her music videos on Facebook, and you can visit her website.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: , ,

Divider