Publisher: Bookouture

Taken in the Dark: Peggy Webb

Taken i n the Dark

Posted on June 13, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 5 Comments

Taken in the Dark, book two in the riveting Logan Sisters thriller series, delivers an engrossing tale that will appeal to fans of suspenseful tales. Like the previous book in the series, Taken in The Dark provides the perfect blend of suspense and family drama. This installment focuses on the eldest Logan sister, Jen and her family and the dangerous situation that poses a threat to their idyllic life. Jen’s desperate search for answers is at the heart of this story, as she journeys through a web of fear and uncertainty to protect her loved ones.

 

Taken in the Dark: Peggy WebbTitle: Taken in the Dark
Author(s): Peggy Webb
Series: Logan Sisters Thrillers #2
Published by Bookouture on June 4, 2024
Pages: 364
Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
Source: Netgalley
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Jen Logan is living her dream life on the water in a small community in Florida. Content with her husband and twins, she feels settled and at peace in nature. But when frightening notes start appearing in her home—signed simply by Invisible—her perfect world shatters.
Then she arrives home to find flowers placed all over her house, and the gift passed down through her family tells her she’s in terrible danger. The delicate white blooms of the oleander plant are an omen of death, and whoever is sending them knows this too. But why are they targeting her, and what do they want?
Before Jen can begin to find the culprit, her children are taken. In a shuddering heartbeat, she realizes that Invisible isn’t out to destroy her, but her family. And with the light fading and a storm brewing over the water, Jen knows there isn’t much time to find her children before darkness falls…
Can she find them before it’s too late? And if she does, will she do what it takes to stop Invisible forever?
This totally addictive thriller is perfect for anyone looking for an unputdownable read packed with unguessable twists, and for fans of Rachel Caine, Melinda Leigh and Mary Kubica.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

 

The series follows three sisters who possesses unique gifts connected to nature. Jen’s ability enables her to interpret warning signs from natural occurrences. When animals act wildly, it signals to Jen that danger is near. A recent increase in odd animal behavior has Jen questioning the source of the impending threat. Then, threatening notes signed ‘Invisible’ began appearing in the most unexpected places, and items mysteriously misplaced. Before long, everything around her started to fall apart. This led to her doubting her competence as a psychologist and, above all, her sanity. Just when it seemed that the situation couldn’t worsen, her children were kidnapped. At that moment, she realized the threat was directed not only at her but also at her family.

What an experience! Even though the mystery aspect was somewhat disappointing, the suspenseful elements achieved their goal. The mystery diminished for me once I deduced who was targeting Jen just fifteen percent into the story. There were other likely candidates, but this one stood out like a sore thumb. However, other elements, like the antagonist’s motivation, kept me invested in the story.

While I admired Jen’s resilience, I felt she was too trusting, which left her vulnerable to Invisible’s attacks. The story illustrates the importance of being cautious about who we let into our personal circle and, by extension, our homes.

“Taken in the Dark” proved to be an engaging read, and I would recommend it to fans of the genre. I eagerly anticipate the upcoming installment in the series.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4
Characters
4
World Building
4
Writing Style
4
Pacing
4.5
Cover
5
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Peggy Webb

Peggy Webb is the USA Today best-selling author of more than 100 novels in numerous genres, including the reader favourite crime thriller, Snow Brides, and the acclaimed literary fiction novel The Sweetest Hallelujah – written under her pen name Elaine Hussey and compared to Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. Her current crime thrillers combine the addictive quality of Snow Brides with the lyrical writing of her literary works, which the late, great Pat Conroy called “astonishing.” Peggy is a former adjunct instructor of writing at Mississippi State University and has won numerous awards, including a prestigious Pioneer Award for creating the sub-genre of romantic comedy, numerous Reviewers Choice Awards, multiple Word Weaving Awards for Excellence, and a submission for the Pulitzer. With more than three million books in print in numerous languages and countries, Peggy’s love of writing goes back to her roots in northeast Mississippi, where she grew up on a farm and fell in love with words by reading everything she could get her hands on while sitting in her daddy’s hayloft. Peggy is an accomplished pianist and singer, and has starred in numerous roles in her local community theatre, including M’Lynn (the Sally Field role) from Steel Magnolias, and The White Witch from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Her love of theatre and music shines through her novels.  She is known for her chilling, filmic scenes, and her latest crime thriller features blues lyrics she composed and credited to one of her characters. She has co-written screenplays for two of her novels, and is active with the Film Festival in her hometown of Tupelo, Mississippi, which is also the birthplace of Elvis. Peggy’s love of both writing and music is so strong, she says, “I hear the music of words in every novel I write.” You can hear her discuss the link between the two arts in her music videos on Facebook, and you can visit her website.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: ,

Divider