Icon Tag: Murder Mystery

Her Dying Secret: Lisa Regan

Her Dying Secret

Posted on May 20, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 3 Comments

Her Dying Secret by Lisa Regan is book number twenty in the Detective Josie Quinn series. Once, Regan delivered a gripping tale that weaves a complex web of secrets and lies. Prepare for a wild and suspenseful ride while following Josie and her team as they face danger while trying to unravel the puzzling threads of a chilling case.

 

Her Dying Secret: Lisa ReganTitle: Her Dying Secret
Author(s): Lisa Regan
Series: Detective Josie Quinn #20
Also in this series: The Innocent Wife , Close Her Eyes , My Child is Missing , Face Her Fear
Published by Bookouture on May 14. 2024
Pages: 393
Genre(s): Mystery, Suspense
Source: Netgalley
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

She gently opens the woman’s tightly clenched fist, uncurling each finger to reveal a square of folded paper hidden in her palm. Scrawled in thick crayon, beside a child’s crooked drawing of a red flower, is one word that sends a shiver through the evening mist: HELP
It was supposed to be a routine road accident recovery, but the moment Detective Josie Quinn sees the passenger—pale and painfully thin, a sharp tool lodged in her stomach—it’s clear she was the victim of something far more sinister, and likely dead before the crash. Watching the driver taken away in an ambulance, questions spin through Josie’s mind. Where were these two women going? Was the driver trying to save a life, or hide a body? And—most heartbreaking of all—is there a child in danger, crying out for help with no reply?
Josie quickly identifies the crash survivor as Mira Summers, a singleton and animal-lover on her way home from nearby stables. Mira swears she doesn’t know who the woman in the car beside her is, or how she was injured. And when she’s diagnosed with concussion and memory loss, Josie is forced to back down.
But the discovery of Mira’s prints on the child’s drawing is all the proof Josie needs that Mira knows more than she’s letting on, and a witness saw Mira meeting with a man with a gnarled diamond-shaped tattoo at the stables. In a race against the clock to track down this elusive man, Josie faces danger from the most unexpected places. Pushed to her limit, can she stay alive long enough to catch the killer and save the life of an innocent child?
An absolutely gripping and truly unputdownable crime thriller that will have you racing through pages until the final jaw-dropping twist hits you like a train. From an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, and perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

 

Detective Josie Quinn and her Husband Lieutenant Noah Fraley are making preparations for a life-changing event. While Josie is agonizing over this decision, she receives a telephone call which led to her turning up at the scene of a motor vehicle accident. A closer look at the scene revealed that this was not simply a motor vehicle accident. An apparent homicide and the possibility of a missing child has Josie and her team working tirelessly to find answers before it’s too late.

The case came with a myriad of secrets and lies. Josie had her work cut out for her trying to decipher the lies from the truth. This is one of those cases where you think you have the answers. However, the deeper into the story one goes, one recognizes that they are way off the mark. The many suspects and the woeful lack of evidence will have readers guessing to the end, this coupled with the suspense and danger made for a page turning read.

While solving the case was the main focus, readers have the opportunity of getting involved in Josie’s personal life. It was also interesting to see her trying to adjust to the new member of the team. This was not easy as he rubbed everyone the wrong way, not just once but all the time.

I look forward to seeing if Josie and Noah will realize their dreams. Also, I am keen to see if the new member of the team will eventually gel with the other members. At the twentieth book, the series is still going strong. I highly recommend Her Dying Secret as well as the series to fans of police procedurals.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
5
Characters
5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Lisa Regan

Lisa Regan is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Detective Josie Quinn series. Lisa is a member of Sisters In Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the U.S. with her husband, daughter, and Boston Terrier named Mr. Phillip.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: , ,

Divider