Tag: murder mystery

Face Her Fear: Lisa Regan

Face Her Fear

Posted on February 5, 2024 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 4 Comments

The Detective Josie Quinn series continues with Face Her Fear, book 19, which was yet another compelling and exciting read. I came into the series late, so I haven’t read all the books. Still, I have liked the ones I have read so far, and Face Her Fear is now among them. The intriguing storyline and enigmatic characters of this atmospheric story kept me completely engrossed.

 

Face Her Fear: Lisa ReganTitle: Face Her Fear
Author(s): Lisa Regan
Series: Detective Josie Quinn #19
Also in this series: The Innocent Wife , Close Her Eyes , My Child is Missing
Published by Bookouture on January 30, 2024
Pages: 385
Genre(s): Mystery
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Blood roars in Josie’s ears as they circle the tree in the deep snow. A woman lies still on the freezing ground. The howling wind lifts the last of the snow clinging to her face, exposing her lovely features, frozen in forever sleep.
Detective Josie Quinn is still recovering from the killing of a beloved member of her team when she and her husband Noah receive yet more devastating news. Close to her breaking point, Josie heads to a specialist trauma retreat, set in an isolated group of log cabins in the mountains of Pennsylvania. But fear is not far behind her.
Josie’s five fellow patients all seem to be hiding secrets darker than just the problems that brought them there and a storm is gathering, with thick snow coming down fast, isolating the cabins from the world below.
Then one morning, Meg Cleary disappears. Having spent years living in terror of a stalker, Meg had come to the retreat to try to piece her life back together. But now, her cabin is empty, no logs are burning in her fireplace, no tracks in the snow lead to or from her door. Quickly organizing a search, Josie’s worst fear is realized when she finds Meg’s body lying in the snow, the marks around her neck revealing that her death was no accident.
And this is no normal case, as Josie is stranded without her team, a phone signal or any legal authority to investigate. When she discovers that someone has placed hidden cameras inside the retreat buildings, Josie’s terror grows with the knowledge that the murderer is among them.
Then another patient goes missing. With their food supplies running low and no chance of escape, Josie knows that she in the greatest danger of her life, and that she alone has a chance to identify the killer and save the rest of the group before it’s too late…
A totally compelling and unputdownable crime thriller that will have you turning the pages late into the night, from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

Despite childhood trauma and the loss of loved ones, Josie’s strength never wavered. However, the recent death of a teammate and the receipt of some devastating news prompted Josie to take a week off work to attend a retreat. The retreat, which is being held in the remote Pennsylvania mountains, is designed for people suffering from PTSD. Only seven people attended the retreat, including Josie. Everything appeared to be going well until one of the participants died. To make matters worse, they were all trapped on the mountain due to a violent snowstorm.

Given that the incident occurred outside of her jurisdiction, Josie had to ensure that the proper protocols were followed for securing the scene and keeping the body safe while attempting to identify the killer. A task that proved difficult due to limited resources and adverse conditions. With only six people alive, the suspect pool was relatively small. Second, it was clear that each individual had secrets, rendering them untrustworthy. The secrets became clearer to me as I progressed through the story. However, determining the killer’s identity had me stumped.

The plot for this instalment took a different turn than in previous books, and the pace took some time to pick up. However, the pacing increased after the discovery of the murder victim. The story kept me on the edge of my seat as I tried to figure out how it would end. Tensions rose throughout the story. The storm, dwindling supplies, a spotty phone signal, and a massive black bear all exacerbated the situation. Another participant went missing, complicating the situation even further.

Reagan delivered a compelling tale that fans of crime fiction would enjoy.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4.5
World Building
4
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Lisa Regan

Lisa Regan is the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Detective Josie Quinn series. Lisa is a member of Sisters In Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the U.S. with her husband, daughter, and Boston Terrier named Mr. Phillip.

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4.5
World Building
4
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags: , ,

Divider