Tag: murder mystery

?Review: The Hunted Girls by Jenna Kernan ?

Posted on May 28, 2021 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 16 Comments

?Review: The Hunted Girls by Jenna Kernan ?Title: The Hunted Girls
Author(s): Jenna Kernan
Series: Agent Nadine Finch #2
Published by Bookouture on May 25, 2021
Pages: 415
Genre(s): Psychological Thriller
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Format: eArc
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne Flame

Stumbling through the pitch-black forest, twigs scratching her bare feet, she sobs as she imagines her children crying for their mommy to put them to bed. By now everyone will know she is missing. Please, please let me find the way home. Before he comes back.
As Agent Nadine Finch rushes to investigate the murder of newlywed Nikki Darnell in Ocala National Forest, Florida, fear floods her body. She swore she’d never set foot here again, not since the case fifteen years ago which tore her life apart. But taking in the triangular cuts scarring Nikki’s perfect pale skin, she knows she must put her own traumatic past aside to find justice for Nikki’s inconsolable husband.
Discovering water in Nikki’s lungs, and certain the triangular wounds were made by arrowheads, Nadine must convince her team of her terrifying theory: that Nikki was hunted down and drowned before being left for them to find. But what monster would do such a thing? And why? Then another woman, a mother of two, is discovered in the woods, tell-tale arrow marks all over her body.
Recognizing the victim as a local waitress, Nadine fears the killer has started attacking women known to her. And the moment she traces the arrow heads to a nearby outdoors store, her own partner disappears.
Frantic, Nadine follows the trail to a lonely cabin deep in the Florida wetlands where she finally learns the heart-stopping truth. To save one of her own, she must confront a deadly hunter obsessed with the case that’s haunted her whole career. Will Nadine have to make the ultimate sacrifice to stop him taking more innocent lives?
Jaw-dropping, packed with twists and turns, and impossible to put down until you reach the final page. Fans of Robert Dugoni, Lisa Gardner and Rachel Caine will be totally addicted to The Hunted Girls.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

The Hunted Girls by Jenna Kernan is the second novel in the Agent Nadine Finch series. Dark and suspenseful  The Hunted Girls will leave you breathless as you join the hunt for a diabolical serial killer. It works well as a stand-alone. However, up on experiencing this  dark, gritty and suspenseful journey into Kernan’s world I plan to go back to where it all began.

Plot

I like the idea behind the plot.  I expected the story to be dark, but the darkness I encountered went beyond my expectations.  Suspenseful, chilling and fast paced The Hunted Girls is not meant for the faint of heart. To lighten things the author infused romance in between the moments spent tracking the killer. I enjoyed the romance, which came with its share of challenges and triumphs.

Characters

Dr. Nadine Finch’s uncanny ability to delve into the mind of a killer as made her a well sought after profiler. As the the daughter and niece of serial killers, a sister to a rapist and grandparents with a criminal past, Nadine can relate to how the mind of a criminal works.  She fears she may have inherited her family’s criminal disposition, as such she keeps everyone at a distance. 

Her team members were interesting individuals. Similar to Nadine they had their share of struggles. This common bond and the need to prove they had nothing in common with their relatives fueled their skills in tracking down psychopaths. 

The villain featured in the story was diabolical. The manner in which he chose his prey and the reason for choosing his current location to carry out his evil acts demonstrated the depravity of his mind.

World Building

The author transported the reader to the city of Ocala in the northern region of Florida.  The location chosen provided the perfect hunting ground for the villain. The area in question played an important role in the story and as events unfold we learn the reason for choosing this location.

Writing Style

I thought the story was well written. It began on a chilling note and I could not look away. The author’s graphic descriptions had me feeling  I was  in the story especially when I found myself cringing on two occasions. The fact I learnt the identity of the villain at the same as the members of Nadine’s team demonstrated the author’s craftiness in wielding  her pen.

Ending

The moments leading up to the end made me edgy.  I was on pins and needles hoping for a favorable outcome. The story ended on a good note, is spite of the outcome as it relates to the villain not being the one I wanted.

Enjoyment

The Hunted Girls satiated my need for a dark and gritty thriller. Fans of  the genre will want to pick up a copy.

 

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4.5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4.5
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

 

Dark and suspenseful The Hunted Girls by Jenna Kernan will leave you breathless as you join the hunt for a diabolical serial killer. #newrelease #psychologicalthriller #crime #agentnadinefinch Click To Tweet

 

 

 

 

About Jenna Kernan

Publishers Weekly bestselling author, Jenna Kernan, combines grit and adventure in her heart-racing reads. RT BookClub called her romantic suspense series “Flat-out good.” Jenna is an Amazon bestselling author and offers a FREE BOOK on her website

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags: , ,

Divider
Divider
Divider