Review: Midnight Abduction by Nichole Severn

Nadene June 2, 2020 Reviews 15 Comments

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: Midnight Abduction by Nichole SevernTitle: Midnight Abduction
Author: Nichole Severn
Series: Tactical Crime Division #3
Published by Harlequin Intrigue on June 1, 2020
Pages: 256
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: Netgalley
Format: ARC, eBook
Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Ride along on the riveting cases of the Tactical Crime Division — TCD. An elite team of FBI agents specializing in high-risk threats.
For the Tactical Crime Division, no case is left cold.
When Benning Reeves’s twins are kidnapped, the frantic father knows who can help: the Tactical Crime Division and Ana Ramirez. Even though Ana once shattered Benning’s heart, the special agent is the only one he can trust. But Ana is still tormented by the unresolved case that brought them together years before—a case somehow entangled with Benning’s children. It’s up to the TCD and Ana to discover why…before it’s too late.
From Harlequin Intrigue: Seek Thrills. Solve Crimes. Justice Served.
Discover the lives and loves of the remaining team members in the Tactical Crime Division series:Book 1: 48 Hour Lockdown by Carla CassidyBook 2: Secret Investigation by Elizabeth HeiterBook 3: Midnight Abduction by Nichole SevernBook 4: Running out of Time by Cindi Myers

Midnight Abduction is another wonderful addition to the Tactical Crime Division series. The story introduces Ana Ramirez and Benning Reeves. Ana is an FBI agent who transferred to the Tactical Crime Division and Benning is a building inspector. Ana and Benning shared a romantic history, but circumstances led to them separating. However, their feelings for each other did not fade with time. So, when someone kidnapped Benning’s twins, he requested the one person he believed he could trust to find his children. It didn’t matter that she broke his heart; he knew she would give her all when it came to doing her job.

Haunted by the memories associated with a failed operation where a life was lost, Ana has withdrawn from the people she loves and lives her life in isolation. Her transfer to the TCD was an opportunity to redeem herself and the kidnapping case would be her last chance to save her career.
Fast-paced and adrenaline pumping, the story kept me on my toes from start to finish.

I marvelled at the characters’ resilience. No matter the number of injuries they both suffered, which includes being shot, stabbed and beaten they never wavered in their search for Owen. I enjoyed the interactions between Ana and Olivia, Benning’s daughter. I found these moments fun and cute.

The villain was like a pesky mosquito that would not go away. I couldn’t wait for him to get what he deserved. I had some ideas about who the identity of the villain, but I did not pinpoint anyone in particular. It was a shocker learning the identity of the mastermind behind the kidnapping. Then the twist at the end was even more of a surprise.

Despite the romance not being the major feature of the story, I had hoped for a little more development. Not that they had much time to discuss the issues that led to their break up given the circumstances.

Conclusion/Recommendation
Overall, I enjoyed Midnight Abduction and would recommend it to fans of romantic suspense.

 

Excerpt

Perfect for fans of Criminal Minds and Blacklist…
Uncover the lives and loves of the FBI elite as they take on the toughest assignments. This is a new four-book miniseries featuring an ensemble cast of characters spread across 4 books, featuring 4 urgent cases, with one stellar team of crime solving experts.

The Tactical Crime Division—TCD—is a specialized unit of the FBI. Because of the growing concerns and need for ever increasing response time to criminal events, the FBI created a specialized tech and tactical team combing specialists from several active divisions that include: weapons, crime scene investigation, protection, negotiation and IT.

CAST OF CHARACTERS:
Ana Sofia Ramirez—She’s out for redemption. Recruited by the Tactical Crime Division’s director from the Bureau’s missing-persons’ division after her last case ended with a dead victim, she’s more determined than ever to recover Benning Reeves’s son.

Benning Reeves—Single father and small-town building inspector who’s come across evidence of a murder hidden on one of his construction sites; the cost of discovery has led to the kidnapping of his six-year-old twins.

Olivia and Owen Reeves—Benning’s six-year-old twins.

Evan Duran—Tactical Crime Division’s hostage negotiator, who’s fully invested in recovering Benning Reeves’s son due to his own dark past of losing his sister as a child.

JC Cantrell—Tactical Crime Division’s tactical-operations specialist, who’s good at planting bugs, leading surveillance ops or coming up with a ruse to distract someone.
***
“Well, maybe I can give her a tour of TCD head-quarters in Knoxville one day. You know, give her a chance to see what federal agents really do on the job.” Ana stilled, the weight of her attention pressurizing the air in his chest, but he didn’t miss the assumption there would be a one day for them. That she wouldn’t disappear from their lives after Owen came home, and his blood pressure spiked. She cleared her throat as though she’d caught herself making promises she might not be able to keep. Just as she had with Samantha Perry’s family. “You must be proud. She’s going to make a hell of an agent one day.”
“That’s her plan, and probably why she opened up to you the way she did. I can tell she admires you, what you do.” Benning straightened, echoes of their earlier conversation replaying in his head on a nonstop loop. He tossed the paper towel he’d used to clean his foot in the trash beside the island. “So do I, to be honest. The work you and your team do saves lives. I know I already said thank you, but I meant it.”

 

 

Midnight Abduction by Nichole Severn delivered a fast-paced tale filled with non-stop action that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. #suspense #romance #harlequinintrigue Click To Tweet

About Nichole Severn

Nichole Severn writes explosive romantic suspense with strong heroines, heroes who dare challenge them, and a hell of a lot of guns. She graduated from Utah Valley University with a degree in Psychology and from Nevada State College with a degree in English Literature. She’s a member of Romance Writers of America.

She resides with her very supportive and patient husband, as well as her demon spawn, in Utah. When she’s not writing, she’s constantly injuring herself running, rock climbing, practicing yoga, and snowboarding.

Nadene
Latest posts by Nadene (see all)

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Netgalley and Edelweiss
  • New Release

Tags: