Icon Tag: Family

Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

Posted on June 1, 2022 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 9 Comments

Once Kissed is the book one in the O’Brien Family series, bur it is not my first time hanging out with the members of this large, loud and tight family. I received my first introduction to this family in Save Me. Now with that being said, I must confess Once Kissed had been on my TBR shelf for a while. I am not sure why it took me so long to get to it; but I am glad that I finally attempted to pick it up. I had a blast with this beautiful and funny second chance romance.

 

Once Kissed by Cecy RobsonTitle: Once Kissed
Author(s): Cecy Robson
Series: O'Brien Family #1
Also in this series: Save Me
Published by Loveswept on November 3, 2015
Pages: 288
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Source: Netgalley
Format: eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Heat Level: One FlameOne FlameOne Flame

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson’s O’Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.
Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office... until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he’s supposed to protect — but not touch.
Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.
Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

SUMMARY

In Once Kissed, the focus is on Police Officer Curran O’Brien and law intern Tess Newhart. Curran is hardworking and well respected by his fellow officers. However, after an unfortunate event which almost ended tragically, his superiors placed him on temporary reassignment to work security detail in the District Attorney’s office. His assignment, protect his brother’s intern.

Tess Newhart faces potential danger because of the high-profile case his brother is currently working on. He took the assignment with a heavy heart, not that he had a choice, but when he laid eyes on Tess, his assignment took on a new life. If only she would loosen up and let down her hair.

 

Curran’s reaction to Tessa when he discovered her identity had me cracking up. You see, these two shared an interesting past. I couldn’t believe Tess had displayed such inhibited behaviour in the past. In this moment Tess comes across as a straight laced geek. She possesses many layers, and it took sometime to peel each one away. However, with each unpeeling, one learns to appreciate her and empathise with her circumstances. To some persons, she may appear weak, but in my opinion, it was the opposite. It takes strength to endure all she did and maintain a compassionate persona. Tess is definitely a survivor.

Curran is the type of hero one could easily fall for. Funny, flirtatious and generous. All was not well with him, though. The incident mentioned earlier led to him dealing with PTSD. He refuses to address it, but a big push from Tess had him seeking help to work through his issues.

The romance which developed between Tess and Curran was sweet, filled with heat and free of drama. I enjoyed their banter, which had me laughing out loud a few times. At first glance, it would appear they wouldn’t make a great fit, but this was not the case. They made a great couple, and they brought out the best in each other. Curran showed her what it meant to be loved and helped to restore her confidence.

Curran was assigned to protect Tess, but her biggest threat had nothing to do with the case she was working on. It came from the one person who should have protected and loved her throughout her life. Instead, her father mistreated her and controlled every aspect of her life. He ensured that any attempts to breakaway would have dire results.

Robson weaved a little suspense and danger into the mix, which along with the antics and banter of Curran’s family gave the story that extra oomph.

Once Kissed delivered a delightful read which will captivate you with its witty banter and endearing moments. 

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
5
Pacing
5
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
5
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Cecy Robson

CECY ROBSON is an international and multi-award-winning author of over twenty-five character driven novels. A registered nurse of eighteen years, Cecy spends her free time creating magical worlds, heart-stopping romance, and young adult adventure. After receiving two RITA® nominations, the Maggie Award, the Award of Excellence, and a National Reader’s Choice Award nomination, you can still find Cecy laughing, crying, and cheering on her characters as she pens her next story.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags:

Divider