Icon Tag: K9

Her Dying Kiss by Jennifer Chase

Posted on July 21, 2023 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 4 Comments

Her Dying Kiss, book ten in the Detective Katie Scott series, delivered an explosive fast paced read which will appeal to fans of murder mysteries.

 

Her Dying Kiss by Jennifer ChaseTitle: Her Dying Kiss
Author(s): Jennifer Chase
Series: Detective Katie Scott #10
Also in this series: The Fragile Ones , Pretty Broken Dolls , The First Girl
Published by Bookouture on July 17, 2023
Pages: 370
Genre(s): Crime Fiction, Mystery
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

She wakes to the dawn light streaming through the window and rolls over to whisper good morning to her fiancé. But panic floods her veins. His side of the bed is empty and cold. Blood trails towards the open door. All trace of him is gone…
It’s been one month since Detective Katie Scott ’s fiancé, Chad , went missing without a trace. Devastated Katie is still working tirelessly day and night to track down the love of her life, barely sleeping and chasing every new lead. But now the case has gone cold.
When the body of beautiful Gina Hartfield is discovered among the pine needles in a clearing on Lookout Ridge, Katie swallows her own pain and knows she must focus on finding Gina’s killer. The young woman was found with a pink velvet blindfold shading the hollows where her eyes had been removed. Katie is certain she is chasing a sadistic individual who will soon take another life…
But the autopsy reveals Gina’s body was washed before being abandoned, leaving no trace of evidence behind. And with no witnesses to Gina’s disappearance, the women of Pine Valley are terrified to go out alone.
Desperately combing the crime scene, when Katie sees a newspaper article about her previous cases pinned to a nearby tree, she is certain Gina’s murder is personal. Then tire tracks found in the forest are matched to a truck seen following Chad in the days leading up to his disappearance. Katie’s blood runs cold .
Is there a link between Chad’s disappearance and Gina’s brutal murder, or is the killer playing a twisted game with Katie? Can she find out the truth before they take another life?
A totally gripping serial killer thriller for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Prepare to stay up all night with this nail-biting rollercoaster ride from USA Today and Amazon bestseller Jennifer Chase!

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 

The story picks up one month after the disappearance of Katie’s fiancee. She struggles with balancing the pain of her loss with performing her detective duties. Her latest case involving an apparent copy cat serial case adds to her struggles. However, Katie, being a resilient and diligent detective, pushed to stop the killer’s rampage.

While following leads, Katie discovered evidence linking the investigation to her fiancée’s disappearance. This apparent connection fuels Katie’s desire to solve the case.

Suspense and a well-developed mystery kept me glued to the pages. Katie’s pain was palpable, which had this reader hoping she would get answers regarding Chad’s disappearance.

Now, while the case relating to the serial killer was solved, the questions relating to Chad’s disappearance were left unanswered. This left me disappointed with the end of this installment, but have me eager for the next book.

Fans of thrillers and suspense will want to add Her Dying Kiss to their reading list. 

 

 

 

 

Her Dying Kiss

About Jennifer Chase

Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and USA Today BestSelling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling.  She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers.

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
4.5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
4.5
Pacing
4
Cover
4
Enjoyment
4
Ending
4
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading

Tags:

Divider