Author: Ellery A. Kane

?Review: Her Perfect Bones by Ellery Kane

Posted on July 22, 2021 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 15 Comments

?Review: Her Perfect Bones by Ellery KaneTitle: Her Perfect Bones
Author(s): Ellery A. Kane
Series: Rockwell and Decker #2
Also in this series: Watch Her Vanish
Published by Bookouture on February 16, 2021
Pages: 370
Genre(s): Mystery
Source: Purchase
Format: eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Audible
Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Series Rating: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The girl’s body is curled up like a shell and almost completely buried in sand. Only her fingertips can be seen, reaching helplessly up towards an escape she will never find…
Seventeen-year-old Shelby Mayfield sits alone on a bus to Fog Harbor, California. Aside from a few items of clothing, all she has with her is twenty-two dollars, the ragdoll she’s kept since kindergarten, and the devastating secret she’s been hiding.
How long will it be before her family realizes she’s gone?
Can anyone see the fresh bruise on her cheek beneath the makeup?
Perhaps she was a fool to believe the person she is meeting in this remote little town could help her…
When a girl’s body is found hidden in a barrel in a woodland cabin, the local police are at a loss. The film from an old camera found looped around her neck is their only lead, but Criminal Psychologist Olivia Rockwell’s blood turns to ice when she recognizes the ragdoll in one of the girl’s last photographs. She used to own one just like it, and it can only mean one thing: if she doesn’t dig deep into the mind of a deadly killer from her past—her own father—more innocent lives will be in danger…
A totally gripping and utterly addictive crime thriller for readers who love Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh. But be warned: you’ll be sleeping with the lights on after you’ve raced through the pages in one sitting!

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


I am thrilled to return to Fog Harbor along side Detective Will Decker and Criminal Psychologist Olivia Rockwell in their hunt for the perpetrators behind the body found in the barrel of sand. Read on to see what I thought of this installment in the Rockwell and Decker series.

 

Her Perfect Bones by Ellery Kane takes the reader back to Fog Harbor. The end of the first book, Watch Her Vanish, left me with questions regarding Olivia’s past and her relationship with her father and detective Will Decker. I got some answers, but there is still more to come.

Olivia and William have yet to get it right as it relates to the attraction between them. They both want each other, but Olivia fears getting involved with William. I totally understand her reasons. Hopefully, she will move on from her past.

This time around the story did not have have the level of suspense I hoped for. There were three scenes that I thought would cause my heart to leap to my throat. However, before I could process these moments, it ended. Despite this, I enjoyed the mystery. This was not an easy one to figure out. However, as the end drew near, the picture became clear, and I had a fair idea as to the who and the why.

Meanwhile, Olivia is investigating the circumstances leading to her father’s death. An investigation which led to surprising discoveries and increased the possibility of danger landing on her doorstep.

Will’s partner, JB, as usual, kept me laughing. There was never a dull moment when he was around.
The mystery surrounding the body found in the barrel was resolved. However, closure as it relates to circumstances surrounding the death of Olivia’s father remains unresolved.


Conclusion/Recommendation

Her Perfect Bones delivered a solid mystery with a satisfying end, while leaving the reader hungry for more.

 

 

Story Evaluation
Plot
3.5
Characters
4
World Building
4
Writing Style
4
Pacing
3
Cover
4
Enjoyment
3.5
Ending
4
Overall: One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

 

Her Perfect Bones by Ellery Kane is a great addition to the Rockwell and Decker series. A must read for fans of mysteries. @bookouture #rockwellanddecker #mystery Click To Tweet

About Ellery A. Kane

Forensic psychologist by day, novelist by night, Ellery Kane has been writing–professionally and creatively–for as long as she can remember. Just like many of her main characters, Ellery loves to ask why, which is the reason she became a psychologist in the first place. Real life really is stranger than fiction, and Ellery’s writing is often inspired by her day job. Evaluating violent criminals and treating trauma victims, she has gained a unique perspective on the past and its indelible influence on the individual. And she’s heard her fair share of real life thrillers.  Ellery lives in the San Francisco Bay Area of California, a picturesque setting that provides the backdrop for many of her novels. If you don’t find Ellery interviewing murderers behind prison walls or pecking away at her latest novel, she is probably at the gym landing a solid jab-cross to a punching bag; riding bicycles with her special someone; or enjoying a movie the old-fashioned way–at the theater with popcorn and Milk Duds.  Ellery was previously selected as one of ten semifinalists in the MasterClass James Patterson Co-Author Competition, and she recently signed a three book deal with Bookouture for her new Rockwell and Decker mystery thriller series.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider
Divider