Category: Petra London


Posted on May 8, 2018 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in 2018 new release challenge, 4 stars, indie author, Petra London, Urban Fantasy / 20 Comments

Title: The Rainmaker

Author:  Petra London
Series: Saga of the Chosen #2
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Indie
Published: March 30, 2018
Pages: 657
Format: ebook
Source: Lexis Infinitum PR
Reading Challenges: 2018 New Release 

The Rainmaker is the second book in the Saga of the Chosen series. It picks up from where the first book ended.  The story started out slow and gradually picked up the pace as the events unfolded, but do not let this discourage you because it will be worth it in the end. The slow start was necessary to prepare for the events, which were on the verge of unfolding.

The focus of this installment was on character development and setting the pace for future events. There was not a lot of action, but when it occurred, it was intense and had me eagerly expecting the outcome.

The world building is awesome, and I enjoyed every moment spent in this unique world. In the previous installment there were wizards, guardians and shifters working together to solve a twenty–five-year-old mystery.  These groups rarely work well together as each saw the other as being inferior, but to stop a power- hungry Guardian from destroying their world they will set aside their differences.  In this installment a faction of vampires who were considered the lowest form of Chosen because of their nature have joined in the fight against the power- hungry guardian.

I had a great time meeting the new characters and catching up with the old ones. New information is provided about the old characters allowing for a better understanding of what drove them. I loved how the new characters blended in adding to the richness of the story.
Romance is brewing and there is one couple, (Raoul and Tasia) I am hoping will move past their insecurities and fears and acknowledge their feelings for each other.

Magic featured in this segment, not too heavy, but enough to make things interesting.  It was great seeing Tasia embracing her magic. More of her secrets came to light, which provided insight into the power she can wield and the threat she poses to the other Chosen.

The questions I had, which arose in the previous installment were answered. However, as the story progressed additional questions arose, which had me wondering what is in store for all the players and most importantly what is Tasia’s role in the fulfilment of the prophecy.

Now this installment at 657 pages was lengthier than the previous book.   This was due to key scenes being restated to team members who may not have been present when the event occurred. This was done regularly throughout the story.   I understood the need for this, but having done so often contributed to the slow pacing of the story.


Overall, this was a great addition to the series and more enjoyable that the previous book.  I am curious to know what next is in store for the team and the impact the prophecy will have on the world of the Chosen.

As they race to untangle the past and thwart a ruthless enemy, Tasia must face her toughest decision yet. Can she take a leap of faith to follow her heart – and risk her deadliest secret?

Tasia is no longer a nondescript, friendless and naïve Wizard on the fringes of San Francisco’s Chosen community. Publicly associated with a powerful Shifter Pack, she must navigate the minefield of Pack politics while safeguarding her secrets and cover from the Chosen who hunt her.

The stakes have never been higher as old fault lines, long-buried secrets, Wizard dysfunction, and Lady Bethesda’s ambitions draw the Chosen ever closer to a civil war. While Tasia grapples to avoid the pitfalls and confront her demons, it is an unlikely nemesis who forces her to face her moment of truth. Tasia finds herself at the crossroads – at stake are her carefully constructed house of cards and her tangled relationship with the man who holds her enemies at bay. Will Tasia risk opening Pandora’s Box or walk away to disappear into the shadows again?

Author’s Note : The Rainmaker continues the story from The Prophecy . The books are not standalone and are intended to be read in order.
The saga of the Chosen continues with The Siren

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading