📚Book Review: Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold

Posted on April 16, 2021 by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading in Reviews / 14 Comments

📚Book Review: Stolen Daughters by Carolyn ArnoldTitle: Stolen Daughters
Author: Carolyn Arnold
Series: Detective Amanda Steele #2
Published by Bookouture on April 6, 2021
Pages: 362
Genres: Mystery, Suspense
Source: Netgalley
Format: ARC, eBook
Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Kobo|Audible|ITunes
Rating:

The girl looked so peaceful, she could have been asleep. Except her eyes were open, blankly reflecting the flickering flames spreading towards her…
When firefighters discover the body of a teenage girl at an abandoned house, Detective Amanda Steele hurries to the scene. Dumfries, Virginia is a small town, yet no one seems to have any idea who the dead girl is until Amanda finds a dragonfly pin with the name Crystal engraved on it.
Working tirelessly, Amanda traces the pin to Crystal Foster, a thirteen-year-old who disappeared three years ago from her wealthy parents’ home. Breaking the news to the distraught parents won’t be easy, but the loss of her own daughter still haunts Amanda, and she knows this will bring them closure. But when Amanda goes to see the Fosters, they do not recognize the girl. She isn’t Crystal.
Before Amanda can react to this new development, she gets an urgent call. A fire has consumed another vacant house, and the remains of two more girls have been found. Who are these girls, and why are they being picked off? Amanda must stop this killer before the pattern continues, and the death toll climbs.
When Amanda receives a taunting note from the killer, she realizes that she holds the missing piece of this puzzle. The victims are connected to Amanda’s past, to a case she can never forget, and which almost claimed her life. As she follows the clues to their deadly conclusion, can she save more innocent lives… even if it risks her own?
An unputdownable, pulse-pounding mystery. Fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni will be gripped.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book includes mature content and is not suitable for readers under 17.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you purchase the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

I had high expectations for Stolen Daughters, and it did not disappoint. The story began on a chilling note, and so with a start like that I needed more.


While attending to a personal mission, Detective Amanda Steele received a call from her sergeant about a crime scene. On arriving at the scene, she learnt of the discovery of an unidentified teenage girl in a burnt out abandoned building. In the course of  investigating the murder, Amanda and her partner Trent uncovered a link between the murdered teen and a sex trafficking ring.  Amanda sets out to put an end to the trafficking ring and apprehend the person responsible for the murder. However, the discovery of  more bodies and the evidence pointing to the same perpetrator, placed Amanda in a race against time to stop the killer from striking again.


What a ride. Excitement, danger, suspense and intrigue permeated the pages of the story, making it difficult to put down. Amanda’s penchant for taking risks along with the POV of the killer added to the danger, suspense and intrigue. Being in the killer’s head proved a terrifying experience. Because he feels justified by his actions he dubbed himself The Merciful. The revelation of his past provided insight into the reasoning behind his actions, not that one could agree with them.


Amanda seems to have detoured from the path of destruction highlighted in the previous book, The Little Grave. The events from book one provided the catalyst for the change. It made me happy to see she how much she had grown. Not everyone she works with is in her corner. I curious to know the reasons for the animosity, which has yet to be revealed.


Although the plotline relating to the murder mystery was resolved, the story ended on a note which had me eager for the next book. Once again Arnold has created a story that fans of police procedurals would not want to miss.

Story Evaluation
Plot
4.5
Characters
5
World Building
4.5
Writing Style
5
Pacing
4.5
Cover
4.5
Enjoyment
4.5
Ending
4.5
Overall: 4.6

About Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading
Follow Me
Latest posts by Nadene @ Totally Addicted to Reading (see all)

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:


Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

14 responses to “📚Book Review: Stolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold

  1. Great review. I’ve read two other series by Carolyn but didn’t want to start another so I’ve given this one a miss for now. I might catch up at some point.

  2. Neat to see the main detective growing and the issues with her co-workers keeping you curious. I’m already cheering her on to get to the bottom of this one with the sex trafficking and young girls being killed.